Course Copy

question_mark“Why should faculty have to create their own courses and have students enroll manually when that data already exists and is updated continuously in Banner?”

Good question!

Beginning in the Spring 2013 semester, course and enrollment data will automatically be imported from Banner into Moodle.  This means that your classes will be created for you and all the enrolled students will be added to the course just like we already do with JupiterGrades.  Adds, drops, and name changes will all be updated in Moodle on a regular basis as well.  However, the automatically created course will be an “empty shell” and you will have to add the content to it. This tutorial shows you how to copy the content from an existing course to your automatically created course. If you do not have an existing course on Moodle start here instead.

  1. Go to the course that has the content that you want to copy.  We will call it your “source course.”
  2. In the Course Settings section for the source course, click on Backup as in the screenshot below:moodle-coursecopy01
  3. The default settings on the next screen are correct for the purposes of copying the course activities only.  That is our goal in this course-copy process; to copy the course content without any user data such as student enrollments, grades, discussion postings, etc.  Click the Next button in the bottom right corner of the screen.moodle-coursecopy02
  4. On the next screen you can choose, item by item, the course content that you want to copy.  In most cases, you want all the content to be copied to the new course.  In that case, scroll to the bottom of the screen and click the Next button.
    moodle-coursecopy03
  5. The next screen is simply for confirmation and review.  Scroll to the bottom of the screen and click the Perform Backup button.  Depending on the size of the course, there will be a delay while the Moodlerooms server backs-up your course.  This process rarely takes more that a couple of minutes even for the largest courses. moodle-coursecopy04
  6. When the backup process finishes, you should see a screen similar to the screenshot below with a “User Private Backup Area” and a list of all of your backup files.  This is where Moodle stores your backups, so you may have multiple files listed here.  In order to copy your course content to the empty course shell that Banner creates in Moodle automatically, click the Restore button next to the file.  We will refer to this course as the “destination” course.moodle-coursecopy05
  7. The next screen is a confirmation and review of the backup file you intend to use in your destination course.  Scroll to the bottom of the screen and click Next. moodle-coursecopy07
  8. The next screen is where you choose the destination course.  Scroll to the bottom section entitled “Restore into an Existing Course” and type into the search box the destination course name or a portion of the name and click the Search button.moodle-coursecopy08
  9. After search is complete, scroll again to the bottom of that screen, select your destination course, and select the option to “Delete the contents…“, then click the Continue button.moodle-coursecopy09
  10. The next screen is just a list of the restore settings.  Accept the default settings by clicking the Next button.moodle-coursecopy11
  11. There are two important settings to update in the next screen.  (1) Change the Course Start Date to the correct date and, (2) select “Yes” in order to Keep the current roles and enrollments.  Scroll to the bottom of the screen and click Next.moodle-coursecopy10
  12. The next screen is simply a review.  Scroll to the bottom of the screen and click Perform Restore. moodle-coursecopy12
  13. The restore process should take no more time than the backup process did.  When it is complete you should see the success screen below which gives you the option to continue to the course you restored.moodle-coursecopy13

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s